Vacant, Animal Control Officer
Interim Coverage: Peter Fickett, Selectman
Phone: (207) 743-9554, ext 0 (Oxford County Regional Communications Center)
To report an animal related complaint, or concerns about an injured or orphaned animal, please contact Oxford County Regional Communications Center using the phone number listed above. The ACO will then be dispatched.
It is important that we vaccinate our pets against rabies. Even if your pet is strictly an indoor pet, vaccines are beneficial in case your pet gets out and comes in contact with wildlife. Vaccines can help to prevent the spread of this disease.
Licensing Your Dog(s):
All dog licenses expire December 31st. All dogs at the age of 6 months or more, by law need to be licensed, on or before January 1st of each year.
The fee for a male or female dog is $11
The fee for a spayed or neutered dog is $6
**A $25.00 PER DOG LATE FEE WILL BE CHARGED BEGINNING FEBRUARY 1ST**
To license a dog, the owner must provide:
A current rabies certificate
Proof and/or a certificate if spayed or neutered
If moving from another town/city in Maine, bring in current license and a new
license will be issued.
Licenses are available for renewals and new for the next year on or around October 15th. All dogs must be registered by January 31st of each year.
1st Time Licensing
If you are licensing your dog for the 1st time in Maine:
You must have a current rabies vaccination certification issued by a Maine licensed veterinarian.
You must have an accurate description of your dog, including your dog’s name, breed, sex and color
You must have a written statement from your veterinarian that clearly states your dog is altered and or / sterile to qualify for the low cost altered license fee.
Dogs can be licensed in person at the Buckfield Town Office or Online.